Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

Tip #12 – 28 Days of Decluttering

Leave a comment

Tip #12 – The reverse hanger tip

Reverse_Hangar_Trick

I love this idea.  I think I’m going to give it a try.  As the weather is warming up,  and I am sick of the clothes I’ve been wearing for the last six months….I always feel right about now that I want to ditch my whole wardrobe and start fresh in the fall.  OK – whom am I kidding!  I don’t really have a wardrobe – – I have tops and bottoms.  Mostly jeans and sweatshirts.   Maybe a sweater is in there on “dressy” days.

But I read about this tip on Becoming Minimalist.  The reverse hanger trick (actually, they credit Oprah for this trick, a little bit).

Here’s is what is written about it on their site:

Try the Oprah Winfrey Closet Hanger Experiment. While this idea didn’t originate with Oprah, she was the one to help give it notoriety. To identify wardrobe pieces to clear out, hang all your clothes with the hangers in the reverse direction. After you wear an item, return it to the closet with the hanger facing the correct direction. After six months, you’ll have a clear picture of which clothes you can easily discard. This experiment could also be applied to a number of clutter areas in your home (cleaners, toys, linens, tools, hobbies and craft items).

What do you think?  Worth giving it a try?

~Amy

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

