Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

Tip 10 – 28 Days of Reducing Distractions

Leave a comment

Tip 10 – Stick to the list 

Sometimes in the middle of a conversation with my husband, I will veer off topic and totally start talking about some other random topic.  He will interrupt me and say “stay on target” in a robotic  tone  – usually it brings me back to my original point. In the same context, I’ve been fixated with cleaning out my deleted emails from my Outlook folders.  I have over 40K emails I need to delete.  My Outlook is running very slowly lately, it keeps getting bogged down and I know it has something to do with this massive amounts of emails that I need to delete.

stay-on-target

Yesterday, I was preparing to write my blog for the day and somehow I got diverted to the deleting project.  Twenty-five minutes later I was still deleting (it is a very slow and tedious process).  The thing is – the deleting project wasn’t really what I should have been working on during that time.  I had set aside that time to write and I got distracted and ended up loosing valuable time. What I really need to do is carve out time to work on deleting; put that as a task on my to-do list and stop letting myself get distracted by tasks that aren’t on my list.

 

~Amy 

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

