Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

I hope this tiny part of our world is a good part in your day

Leave a comment

I woke up to emails this morning from different organizations I follow stating “last chance“and “don’t wait” .  It is their end-of-year donation push – but geez, when you get five or six in a row, it makes one think – – “dang, do I have any time left?

I think the great thing about the turning of the year is the fresh beginning.   How do you mark your New Year?

Do you set a theme for the year?

If I set a theme for 2014 it would be “improvements“.  And I mean improvements in all sense of the word – personal improvements like no yelling.  Home improvements like a new master closet and bathroom.  Health improvements as I start a journey to running a half marathon in June.  Professional improvements like improving my writing and building my pet sitting business back up.

Do you close the book of 2013 and start a new book in which the title is “2014- The Year to End All Years” 

If I wrote a book my opening line would be “it was the best of times, it was the worst of time”.  It would be a comedy.

Do you count the minutes make plans to make each minute count?  

There are 525,949 minutes by the way.

Do you see what I did there – Just a Minute…the name of my blog…counting minutes….get it?

Do you not make a big production about the New Year and instead continue, one day at a time? 

Tonight my little family of four is going to a Japanese Steakhouse – you know the ones where they cook in front of you?  We’ll come home and watch a movie and probably play a game.  We’ll watch fireworks on TV and watch the rest of the world celebrate before it is our turn.

Tomorrow, I’ll burn some sage and cleanse the air in and around the house getting rid of any bad ju-ju and making way for the good stuff.  I hope to take a little hike if it isn’t raining.  We’ll continue to take down Christmas and clean the house – that seems to be a bit of a theme for this past week.

I’ve starting working on the “no yelling” already and I’ll continue my quest on savoring all of life’s minutes (I did it again).

Before I close for the year, I want to send out a thank you to everyone.  Thank you for reading my blog, for sharing your thoughts and experiences.  I hope this tiny part of our world is a good part in your day.

Best to you and your family for a wonderful 2014.

See you on the flip side!

~Amy

 

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

