Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

….putting off the inevitable

Leave a comment

Battle of the wits….

My older son and I are having a bit of battle of the wits.  The weapon of choice – clean laundry!

WHAT?  Clean laundry?  What battle could ensue from that?

Well – when you have a nine-year old and a battle of the wits going on – it is really amazing what can come about.

So – here’s what’s going on. 

Every week or so I do laundry.  Upon taking everything out of the dryer, I fold and sort and place into individual stacks on my bed.

As I am finishing up – I ask everyone to take up their own stacks and put away their clean clothes.  I help my five-year old with the hanging stuff.

Simple – right?

Well – my nine-year old has taken it upon himself to make this not so simple.  In fact, he keeps making it harder on himself.

I discovered….

A few weeks ago, I discovered that instead of putting his clothes away, he instead threw all of them in the corner that is not easily seen from the doorway.

A few weeks later, I discovered that he dumped all of the clean items onto the floor of the closet.

This morning after I asked him “did you put your clean clothes away yesterday” and his answer was a puzzled look….I got suspicious.

So what did I find when I asked him what he was going to wear today and opened up his closest door to see – – – an empty closet with no clean clothes!

This time he had hidden all of the clean clothes in the closet again, but also took the time to hide them under an old beanbag chair and an old Halloween costume.

WHY?!?!?!?!?!

I calmly told him to get to work putting everything away.  I stood there for a bit and watched him to make sure he did in fact put them away this time.

At breakfast I asked – “what did you learn?

His reply  – “put my clothes away the first time”. 

To which I explained that he’s only putting off the inevitable.

Why do we do this?  

Knowing we’ll eventually have to do whatever the task is  – – I do it too and I’m 41!

Do you?

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

~Amy

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

