Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

Not Me Monday….an interview with Sara

Leave a comment

A couple of weeks ago, my (35-year old) little cousin, Sara, came to visit me for a weekend.  I call her my little cousin, because we are the youngest of the five cousins who grew up together, me and my older sister and Sara and her two older brothers.  She and I have a lot in common and I love spending time with her.

As I do anytime we have guests come to visit our home, I cleaned the house, brushed the dogs and put fresh towels out.  Sara arrived around 10pm and from the time I finished cleaning to the time we got back home from the airport, one of my dogs rolled in something.  We discovered it as I was showing Sara her room and I kept smelling something yucky.  WONDERFUL!

It was too late to deal with it then (approximately midnight by then), but the next day, Sara did a Google search for “DIY Dry Dog Shampoo”   Online, she found a recipe on exactly that DIY Dry Dog Shampoo.  As luck would have it, I had all the ingredients – oatmeal, corn starch and baking soda.  Sara whipped together a batch of this powder in my food processor, we brushed out the dogs and sprinkled some one each of them and just like that – the stink was gone!

Now I’ve known that Sara makes many of her own cleaning supplies and I’ve been inspired by her to try to create some of my own to replace my arsenal of cleaning stuffs.  The dog shampoo experience lead me to ask Sara a few questions and I thought I’d share them with you.

Me: What made you want to make your own cleaning supplies.  

Sara: I watched a documentary by my friend, Dana Nachman titled The Human Experiment (see the trailer, release date coming soon)  which talks about the chemicals that surround us everyday and how we don’t really know how they impact our health and our lives.  After I had my baby, I became more aware and started making some changes to our routines. 

Me: What sort of products do you make?

Sara: I make laundry detergent, fabric softener, now I make a dry dog shampoo and an all-purpose cleaner made of citrus peels, vinegar and water.  I use it everywhere.  I’m always looking for new things to try out.  

Me:  Did you find it hard or challenging to make the switch to homemade versus store-bought cleaning supplies? 

Sara:  No, I like doing it.  It is a lot like a science experiment with each product.  I like trying different recipes and manipulating them by adding or subtracting things that work or that I prefer.  Like my all-purpose cleaner – I make different concoctions of this using orange, lemon or lime and grapefruit.  Plus when you know you are using non-toxic products, it makes you feel better.  And you know what- -it is actually fun. 

Me: Did you end up with benefits that you weren’t expecting? 

Sara: YEAH – where I live, we don’t have curb-side recycle pick-up.  And by making a lot of my own cleaners, we’ve reduced  the amount of trash that we put out each week. 

Me: How do you suggest people get started? 

Sara:  Watch the movie, then start small by looking up ideas and recipes on the internet.  The internet is a great resource. 

 

Sara Lerich is a mother to her 18 month old daughter. She is co-founder of Bunny & Bug, a child’s accessory website.  She lives in San Antonio, Texas with her husband, daughter and their two dogs.

Happy Monday Everyone,

~Amy

 

PS – this is the first of my interview series.  I hope you like, if so, please share with your friends.  If you know someone who you would like to see interviewed and featured on my blog, let me know, I’d love to talk with them.

 

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

