Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

Thursday’s Take….suck it up!

Leave a comment

WHEW!  I don’t usually like to say things like this but….

Man, I’ll be happy when this week is over.

You know how in addition to writing this blog and doing time management consulting, I also do contract work for a little animal rescue non-profit.  One of the projects I work on for them is their annual dinner/auction.  I’m charged with overseeing all the details and organizing the event.  It is a pretty big task with about 1267 little details.

The auction is this Saturday, the 19th.

And this week has sucked.

This week is when all the little details start to come together and now it’s crunch time.   And while when people say “don’t worry, it will all work out.” – sure – that is true….but at some point, someone is going to have to make it all work out and sometimes there are just times when you have to suck it up and make it happen.

That’s been this week for me and the rest of my team.  I’ve been thinking of how could we have done this week differently.  Thinking with my time management guru hat on, I’ve been pondering….how would I advise other people to make this week easier or less hectic.

I think what it comes down to is…no matter how hard you try to not have everything happen all at once, there really isn’t any other way around it.  There are just situations and projects and deadliness like this one where crunch time is going to happen and no matter how hard you try to avoid, you just have to dig deep and get ‘er done.

 

It’s sort of like finals week during college.

Or filing your taxes.

Or getting a pap smear.

You just have to take a deep breath and say “this is going to suck…but it will only be temporary….and we’ll get through this.

And that’s exactly what I did….on Saturday afternoon I allowed myself to acknowledge that this week was going to be tough.  (An added hiccup is my husband had to go away on travel, leaving me to tend to our sons…not an added dread at all…but definitely adding challenges to my already crazy week.)

And even though this week has been tough, I have to say, it hasn’t been all bad.  That’s not to say things didn’t aren’t going perfectly smoothly…yesterday alone I stopped by three places to tend to details and none of them were ready….leaving me to have to make another trip today to each place. Time I don’t have…now I have to repeat steps.

I think having adopting the attitude of “it’s gonna be a tough, but I’ll get through it” makes it better.

This is not to say, that I’m not exhausted.  Because…. I am.!!!  And I’ve missed writing everyday and keeping with my other routines.  But today is Thursday and tomorrow is Friday and then Saturday will be about an eighteen hour day and then Sunday…there is a pancake breakfast in our little town that we’re attending  – – after I sleep in.

Happy Thursday everyone!  I look forward to getting back on track again next week!

Hey- I tried to think of a male equivalent to something that you have just have to suck up like getting a pap smear – – what would that be?  Any ideas?

~Amy

PS (not sure I’ve ever written something and referred to a pap smear and today I did it twice….three times if you count this one.)

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

