Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

Getting Motivated to Get Things Done – Part 1

Leave a comment

Ask yourself – WHY?

A couple of weeks ago I invited everyone to send me questions on any time-saving issues.  The first question that came in was “How do I get motivated to do things I don’t want but still need to do?”

I think it is important to start with asking yourself why don’t you want to do these things.  Is it because:

  • You don’t really know how to do it.
  • The project is just so huge, you don’t know where to start.
  • The tasks are so mundane, boring, routine and just plain gross to even think about doing.

Understanding why you don’t want to do something will help you figure out the next steps on how to get it done.

I am going to give a personal example to use this week for this topic.  For a keepsake measure as well as a way to stay in touch with our families, I have a goal to compile all the videos and photos that Tim and I have taken of the boys and put them onto a DVD.  I am about FIVE YEARS behind on this project.   Here are the reasons why I haven’t accomplished this project.

1. I don’t really know how to do it.  Because I haven’t really done anything like this, I need to learn the program first before I can make any progress on the actual project.

2. Did I mention it is FIVE YEARS worth of video and photos I need to sort through?  And with every passing day and passing event, the project gets bigger and bigger.

3. The idea of sitting at a computer in the evenings or on a weekend, when I sit at my computer all day long isn’t very appealing to me.

Over the course of this week, I will address my project by offering ways to tackle it and get it done!

Thanks for reading.  Hope you are having a good day.

Amy

http://www.amymunns.com

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

