Minute by minute

my thoughts on making the most out of all of life's minutes…

What motivates us?

Leave a comment

When I was in school for my master’s degree a couple of years ago, one of my classes was on motivation.  Of course, it was focused on motivating employees, and one would think the obvious motivator for employees would be money.  Time and time again throughout the class we were reminded and we learned that very seldom is money a motivator.

A friend posted this YouTube video on her Facebook the other day and I finally got around to watching it this morning.  While it is almost eleven minutes long – usually a three-minute video is my max –  I was curious to see what it had to say.  Not only is the delivery method fun to watch – the message is great too.  And I was reminded of what I learned in class from the video too.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc

I always like things that can be applied from the business world into our personal or family lives.  I encourage you to set aside a little over ten minutes and check this video out.  It is obvious how it applies to the business world and with a little creativity, they can easily be applied to our personal lives.

The three points that the video brings up that are key motivators for people are

  1. Autonomy – or being self-directed
  2. Mastery – getting better at a stuff you enjoy doing
  3. Purpose – having a reason for doing what we do

Here’s the link again.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc I have no affiliation with the creators of the video.

Hope you have a great day!

Amy

http://www.amymunns.com

Author: amymunns

Finding more minutes in your day. Specializing in time management, goal setting, prioritizing tasks for small business, busy professionals and active families.

Now it's your turn...

